Looking at the music of Dutch rock band Focus, started in the late sixties by Thijs Van Leer (b /31/03/48) with Jan Akkerman (b 24/12/46). Van Leer still performs and records under the name today (official site here). Akkerman's site here.




Track by track 15c Eruption (Part 3 - Euridice, Dayglow, Endless Road)

Archive number: 15c
Title: Eruption (Part 3 - Euridice, Dayglow, Endless Road)
Main Album: Moving Waves (Focus 2 in Holland)
Track number: 6c
Genre: Progressive Rock (Symphonic) Studio: Sound Techniques Studio, 46a Old Church Street, Chelsea, London SW3
Length: 5' 25" (22' 57" the whole)
Composer: Thijs van Leer, (Tom Barlage, Jan Akkerman), Eelko Nobel, Pierre van der Linden
Musicians: Jan Akkerman – Electric guitars (Gibson Les Paul Customs), Bass; Thijs van Leer – Hammond organ, Piano, Voice, Flute, Mellotron; Cyriel Havermans - Bass; Pierre van der Linden - Drums
Producer: Mike Vernon
Engineer: Jerry Boys
Label: LP - Imperial, Blue Horizon CD – EMI Bovema, IRS, Red Bullet
Date of recording/release: April, May 1971/October 1971. CD - 1988, 1993, 2001
Alternative version: The original Eelko Nobel contribution can be heard briefly in the background on the Ramses Shaffy album Sunset Sunkiss.
Notes: Eruption is a brilliant composite piece that pulls together various musical elements. Album notes refer to as many as 15 different parts though the nature of the music means that there are overlaps and the debatable nature of deciding just where one part ends and another begins is reflected in the varied timings given. We present here our own attempt to convey what is included.
There is a definite caesura or pause at 14:35 and then we enter on the third and penultimate section.
14:36-16:16 Euridice
First we have Euridice by Eelko Nobel (van Leer's fellow singer when he was working with Ramses Shaffy). This begins with beautiful piano and guitar, then the organ comes in. The flute takes up the lead at 15:14 with bass. From 15:53 to 16:16 it is the heavily reverbed solo flute that rounds off the piece.
16:17-17:53 Dayglow
The next part begins with a monk-like voice and organ to be succeeded (16:47-17:19) by organ and 'violined' guitar. At 17:18 a mellotron comes in featuring voices and a horn-like sound. At 17:52 a transition is signalled with bass, cymbals and the horn-like mellotron.
18:24-20:00 Endless Road
This transitional part leads into van der Linden's drumbreak.

No comments: